Documentary Pitch

I am going to produce an informative and eye opening documentary that looks into the different ways that Alzheimer’s effects people; rather than this singular stereotypical view of what an Alzheimer’s patient is like. I want to look at the different stages of the disease: from the tests and diagnosis to the eventual deterioration and patients who are now living in a care home. The documentary will include interviews and information from patients, the families, and importantly, professionals in the field.  I am aiming to film in the North Wales/Bangor area but will travel further afield if necessary. I do have personal ties and experience with the disease, as my grandmother suffers from ischemic and degenerative Alzheimer’s and is currently residing in a care home specifically for Alzheimer’s sufferers – which are where I got a lot of my inspiration for producing the documentary.

Personal:

Through watching my grandmother change from a stern, funny, family orientated woman to a person who cannot even string a sentence together, I believe I owe it to her and every other Alzheimer’s sufferer and family members of those whose loved ones are effected by the disease to create a documentary informing the nation about the process of testing and diagnosis to what is essentially, the deterioration and effects of the disease.

I visit my grandmother every week or other week in Leyland, who have a brilliant care team looking after about ten Alzheimer’s patients. After a few visits, I noticed that each patient was effected by the disease so differently, from my quiet but content grandmother, to people with quick and unprovoked mood swings, the inability to physically say real words and even the constant repetition of certain phrases/words. I’ve met some lovely people who suffer from the disease and they have really inspired me to raise awareness for Alzheimer’s, there is so much more research that needs to be done! The sad fact is Alzheimer’s is more common than most of us realise, and it’s on the rise as we’re living longer.

I find it fascinating that this disease can and does physically change your brain, and consequently; the personality of the person afflicted with the disease. It’s a horrible thing and so hard to see somebody you care about stare at you so blankly. Knowing they are there in body but not in mind. Now, so far this is just my basis of my own experiences but I will be expanding on this. My sister, Louise Lockwood has a Masters degree in Psychology and studied in Bangor University. After studying Alzheimer’s and having relevant contacts with industry professionals I should be able to set up some professional insight interviews to give the facts, reliably. I do want to film this in North Wales, obviously if I have to travel to visit some care homes/day centres then I will, my aim is to create a hard-hitting documentary that will show you what it’s really like to suffer from Alzheimer’s, or to know somebody who does. From start to finish, beginning to end.

If anybody would like to help out with this production, has any useful information or contact details relevant to the documentary email me at lockwoof@uni.coventry.ac.uk or comment below. If you would like to make a donation to the Alzheimer’s society please follow the link below. Thank You. 

http://www.alzheimers.org.uk/

4 thoughts on “Documentary Pitch

  1. Natasha Harmer says:

    Great idea! 😀
    There’s a pretty good Korean drama called A Moment to Remember about a woman in her 20’s that’s diagnosed with Altzheimer’s, it starts before she’s diagnosed and is quite a long, slow paced film that goes through the entire journey right up until she can’t remember anything, it’s very moving 🙂

  2. didn’t see this comment till now, WordPress put it in the spam column -.- but that sounds pretty interesting I’ll have to give it a watch 😀

  3. quirkybooks says:

    My Grandma has gone into a nursing home because she can’t look after herself anymore. She does have Alzheimer’s but is not that bad to go into the Alzheimer’s part of the nursing home and some days are much better than others. I saw her yesterday for 3 hours. Her memory was relatively good. Her long term memory very good. She kept repeatedly asking where the two walking sticks were and my mum kept saying that the nurse said they are not hers but someone else’s. She did accept this but seemed to be fixated on them still because she felt she could move around more independently with them and they were useful for other people to have around.

    Not everything she said is untrue. She said she needed white pants and although my mum said that she had got loads, I asked her to check in case they had thrown some away and she had none in her drawers and so my mum and dad had to get her more.

    It is important to try to work out what can be believed and not disregard everything she says. I feel she is usually better around me because we have a close bond and I understand how her brain normally works as it’s the same as mine and that’s not quite normal but very special and quirky. I love my Grandma to bits, she is awesome.

    She is on sleeping tablets Zopiclone 3.75mg and my parents were warned it could make her worse but since she has been on them she is so much better. She started shouting and fighting to not be dressed by the nurses and didn’t know who my parents were but since taking these tablets, she is calmer and back to her usually self with improved memory. It may be worth doing some research into Zopiclone with Alzheimer’s.

  4. that’s an interesting point I’ll be sure to look into it, and get some opinions on the relationship of Zoplicone and Alzheimer’s.

    There is a woman in the care home my grandmother is in who seemed completely with it when we first met her, she was around 87 and looked and seemed pretty good for her age, we had a little chat and she seemed fine – texting on her mobile and ringing her daughter for a chat etc. – until asking how to get upstairs, we told her she was already upstairs and she got a bit upset and confused as she didn’t understand where she was. I saw her again last week and she just turned to me asking why she was here and what was this place, and that she thought her daughter would be here and how she hated waking up in a bed in a room and having no idea where she was. It was really sad, and strange to see the slow change.

    I hope your grandmothers Alzheimer’s can be slowed down as much as possible and hope she’s doing well!

Leave a Reply

