‘Once Bitten Twice Shy’ – The moment we all turned pro.

‘Once Bitten Twice Shy’ snook up on us so fast! 

OBTS poster

One minute I got a message asking to be involved in a promising production, the next – I was heading down to Devon at 4am, eager to get filming. 

I’m not entirely sure how we got through the film without collapsing from exhaustion, though I believe we all went pretty damn crazy by the end of the night! Obviously all of us – the crew – are still in the learning process, and you only learn by doing. Well, I can safely say I learnt a hell of a lot. It definitely helped that we had such a talented cast, who managed to bring the characters to life with such ease, and so convincingly that there were a fair few times where the lines of film and reality became a blur. Which, is always a good sign. We’re lucky to have such a supportive cast who were skilful and full of good humour (much humour!) but also, are the type of crew who work as a team, get on really well, and produce some purely engaging bits of film! 

OBTS attack shot

In terms of technical equipment, it’s all becoming easier with each shoot, we’re all becoming a lot more fluent and confident with our roles and equipment. It’s really just like second nature setting up and getting ready now, things will always go wrong – or not quite the way you expected, but you figure it out, keep working and find a way around it. 

I really appreciate the opportunity to be a part of this film and yes, we got stressed. Yes, we all went a little crazy. Yes, some people were even harmed in the making of this film. But that is why I love it (not in some sadistic way). Being able to laugh and joke even when we had managed to create such a dramatic ambience – says a lot about what a great team we had. 

Seeing the stills from the shoot today made me all the more hopeful for Once Bitten Twice Shy’s future, I wish I was more OBTS bottle shotpatient…I was eager to see the final cut of the film before we’d even left the set! But it’s something I shall look forward to seeing. 

So, basically – I learnt that I can still function after three days without sleep and it was an epic experience. Being a part of these projects drives my passion for producing film and with some good luck – this could be the stepping stone to bigger, and brighter things! Maybe even brighter than a 500W flood light shining in your face. 

This post seems pretty corny – I’ve never liked corn. 

Anyway, check out the Facebook page for all updates and info on Once Bitten Twice Shy: https://www.facebook.com/oncebittentwiceshyfilm

I hope you enjoy watching it as much as we enjoyed making it! 

9 thoughts on “‘Once Bitten Twice Shy’ – The moment we all turned pro.

  1. You guys rocked it out of the park! I hope to get to work with all of you again someday! You all worked so well as a team and everyone of you felt like you were on the same page! Great stuff!! Reblogging!

  2. Reblogged this on MikesFilmTalk and commented:
    Another point of view from our fantastic sound gal! Read on and enjoy…

  3. Haha ‘some people were even harmed in the making of the film’ love it XD That should go in the credits!!
    So glad it all turned out well, we are definitely doing something like this again!!! No doubt about it 😀 Definitely improved so much since iHero and that weird vicar film 😛

  4. hahaha it’s funny because it’s true 😛 ahhh Ihero I forgot about that! wow, hard to believe that was the beginning of first year :L we’ve come so far :’)

  5. quirkybooks says:

    Congratulations Mike. I live in Exeter in Devon, where was it filmed?

Leave a Reply

