Script for Documentary ‘Struggle with life and race against time’ 162

Here is the script for our documentary to be shot on Friday 15th February, the script follows the journey of a man, and his struggle in becoming the success that he is today. 


Struggle with life and Race against time

Shots of the plane landing and family seeing grandfather. Will here plane noise, cut to family hugging (silent + soft music). Halfway, he will start speaking.

When a human is born on earth, God sends him with a purpose. To follow karma, working in the interest and good faith for others. I believe that if you fight that karma, God will definitely give you a reward, as and when your time comes.

I was born on the 25th March 1948 in the city Nadiad, which is located in Kheda District, Gujarat, India. I began school up until the 8th Standard at Sonarola High School. My parents had a small, tailoring business and after 1962 we had to shift to another village.

I passed my matriculation exam in 1964 and then joined Nadiad’s College for further study. Unfortunately, after a few months I had to leave college. My family’s condition became extremely poor. We couldn’t afford anything. I had to give up studying to gain money for a roof over our head. We were living in a room, which we all shared.

I wanted to study further. But financial struggles erupted. My dreams were to become a Chartered Accountant.

I became a typist.

1965. I was earning 911 rupees per month, which is £10.86 in pounds. Three years passed and I went onto becoming a junior clerk. At this time of crisis and struggle, I always questioned myself ‘What is my purpose? Did I have one? Challenging my words, belief and faith. Three years passed and I went onto becoming a junior clerk. At this time of crisis and struggle, I always questioned myself ‘What is my purpose? Did I have one? Challenging my words, belief and faith. During these few years, I had saved up some money. I began studying my Bachelor of Commerce in 1971.

As well as working at the same time, it was difficult for me to fit studying and reading in. When I got home it was late and due to limited space or bedrooms, there was nowhere for me to read books in the night. And so I read under the streetlights in the dirty gullies.

I went on to joining the big city, Ahmedabad. My next job involved being a Clerical Officer at ‘The Kaira District Central Co-operative Bank LTD’. In this period of time I gradually completed my Masters of Commerce in 1975.

I have to say that during these 25 years, it was difficult, struggle, hard and painful. But the outcome and learning process was vital and unforgettable. The ladder I climbed was my journey.

Today, I have my own house in Ahmedabad. I am a professional Bank Manager at ‘The Sanans Urban Co-operative Bank LTD’ and thoroughly enjoy my job. I got married in 1975. Through this struggle with life, my wife gave me full support and stood with me in every situation. She now works in the State Government. I also have two children, a daughter (1979) and a son (1980) whom both now happily live in England.

I would like to take this time out to mention that I am very proud of my childhood period. Even though my father was earning less in which we were unable to stand on our two legs, I still am thankful for everything he did for me. He never let the struggle and poorness get in the way, and kept smiling. Since then I have promised him that I would never disappoint him. At that time I had no sources to make him happy except my hard work, effort and love. Now I know he is watching me and is proud.

As a family, we suffered many difficulties. But God gave us strength to fight.

When a human is born on earth, God sends him with a purpose. And my purpose is what defines me. This is story of my journey from being a helpless, brave typist, to a hard working, proud Grandfather.

1. The views expressed and materials presented represent the personal views of the author and should not be taken to represent the opinions, policy, or views of the Department of Media, or of Coventry University, nor any of its employees or other students

 

2. All content provided on this blog is for informational purposes only. The author of this blog makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site, or found by following any link on this site.

 

3. Neither the Author nor host will be liable for any errors or omissions in this information, nor for the availability of this information. The Author and host will not be liable for any losses, injuries, or damages from the display or use of this information.

Leave a Reply

