My Poetic Eyes: Reflection 160 T2

My poem concentrates on British and American soldiers in Afghanistan, it is a subject which is important to me as I have friends out there, and some who are preparing to go out there, as well as knowing people who have been seriously injured and even killed in Afghan.

I don’t tend to write much poetry, I find that I am better at analyzing the linguistics of creative writing rather than producing a piece myself. Saying that, once I got into the rhythm of writing my poem I found that it flowed well. The original ‘final draft’ of my poem was different to what I recorded; I ended up finishing the poem, then searching for footage after. But when I was watching the archive footage I became inspired and re-wrote a few verses; which I think turned out much better than my original. I didn’t go into the writing wanting my poem to rhyme, but when I began typing it out the assonance seemed to just appear in front of me, it felt more natural to write like this and I found that it made the subject more effective and engaging.

There were certain words and phrases that I wanted to fit with specific clips, for example George Bush winking on the word “scheming” to accentuate the message and give the clips more meaning. The quality of some of the clips is not very good, but a lot of footage from Afghan is done on very cheap camera phones etc. I don’t see this is a problem, it adds authenticity, and the images are still powerful.  I used clips showing the soldiers laughing and socializing so they were humanized and relatable.

I think the sound quality came out fairly well, the microphone picked my voice up well and I made an effort to speak as clearly as I could. I wanted to add a soft musical piece, because it creates such an effective, sorrowful atmosphere, but is still a beautiful musical piece.

1. The views expressed and materials presented represent the personal views of the author and should not be taken to represent the opinions, policy, or views of the Department of Media, or of Coventry University, nor any of its employees or other students

2. All content provided on this blog is for informational purposes only. The author of this blog makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site, or found by following any link on this site.

3. Neither the Author nor host will be liable for any errors or omissions in this information, nor for the availability of this information. The Author and host will not be liable for any losses, injuries, or damages from the display or use of this information.

Leave a Reply

